Mayor Jackson, Fire Chief Calvillo Honor Firefighters and Citizens at Awards Ceremony

At a ceremony in Cleveland City Hall, Mayor Frank G. Jackson, Cleveland Fire Chief Angelo Calvillo, Council President Kevin J. Kelley and Councilman & Chair of the Safety Committee Matt Zone recognized firefighters and citizens for their outstanding service to the Division of Fire.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of the award recipients on October 13 were longtime firefighters honored for distinguished service. Some of the recipients were honored for actions that saved the lives of others. Others were citizens who attempted to rescue those in need of help.

Award winners include:

Medal of Valor

  • FGF Vito Giammarco
  • FGF Jose Aviles

Meritorious Service

  • FGF Terrence Bruening
  • FGF Richard Vacca
  • Engine 41
  • Captain Alan Dewaele
  • FGF Charles Harris
  • FGF Steven Weir
  • FGF James Papcke

Distinguished Service

  • Captain Patrick Corrigan
  • Captain Brendan McNamara
  • FGF Barry Kifus

Citizens Award

  • Michael Blake
  • Anthony Chavis
  • Rashon Arrington